Vince Staples announces “Prima Donna” EP

Screen Shot 2016-06-20 at 1.35.58 PM

UPDATE (8/15): After announcing his forthcoming Prima Donna EP about 2 months back, Vince Staples has finally shared the artwork, release date & tracklist for the project. See the official cover for Prima Donna due out next Friday (August 26th) below.

1. “War Ready”
2. “Smile”
3. “Loco” feat. Kilo Kish
4. “Prima Donna” feat. A$AP Rocky
5. “Pimp Hand”
6. “Big Time”

Prima Donna

A photo posted by @vincestaples on

ORIGINAL POST: Covering the June/July issue of FADER Magazine, Vince Staples sat down with the staff to discuss everything from his childhood to influences & much more.  Perhaps the most notable thing we’ve pulled from the piece however is the announcement of Vince’s forthcoming Prima Donna EP expected to arrive sometime this summer:

With production from James Blake and DJ Dahi, the six-song set starts with a rap star killing himself and concludes with him first coming to fame. You’re meant to be able to play it front-to-back or back-to-front. Either way, it’s a chaotic fusion of warped soul, distorted hooks, and extraterrestrial demonic spirituals. The tentative release date is sometime this summer.

Prima Donna represents his greatest artistic leap forward: it’s a hyper-musical fusillade of sounds that could be described as psychedelic gangsta rap blues that you could play at 2 a.m. at an underground rave.

Read the full article here & check out a clip of Vince explaining himself/photos from his shoot below.






Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment